You’re Invited to two Video Premiers with Jan Kraybill

Originally published in Community of Christ Announcements Sept 1, 2020

Jan Kraybill, Community of Christ organist-in-residence, is all ears. And hands, and feet.

The Grammy-nominated performer often enjoys hearing and answering her audience’s questions, especially if she’s playing a demonstration concert at the Temple or Auditorium in Independence, Missouri, USA. But because the world is dealing with a pandemic, her next performances — hands and feet dancing across the massive instruments — are for online audiences.

The good news: Questions are still welcome!

More good news: Kraybill will take video viewers behind the scenes, inside these massive instruments, to view aspects never seen by live audiences.

During free internet premiers at 7:30 p.m. Central Daylight Time on both 13 September at the Temple organ and at the Auditorium organ 14 September, Kraybill will be online to take queries about the instruments or the music she played. The videos were recorded in Independence, but Kraybill’s responses will be live.

Watch her concerts on the Community of Christ Facebook page or the Community of Christ YouTube channelViewers can ask questions in the comments areas during the premieres. The videos will remain on the church’s YouTube channel for later viewing.

Watching the videos is free.

Here’s the music Kraybill plays.

On the Temple Casavant organ in Independence (13 September):

  • Prelude in B Major, Op. 7, No. 1 by Marcel Dupré
  • Adagio e dolce (second movement) from Trio Sonata No. 3, BWV 527 by Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Berceuse by Louis Vierne
  • Grand-Choeur Dialogué by Eugène Gigout
  • Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring by J.S. Bach
  • Toccata from Symphony No. 5 by Charles-Marie Widor

On the Aeolian-Skinner organ in the Auditorium (14 September):

  • Fanfare in C Major by Henry Purcell
  • Chorale Prelude on Ein Feste Burg by Johann Pachelbel
  • Allegro (first movement) from Concerto in F, Op. 4, No. 4 by Georg Frederic Händel
  • Intermezzo on an Irish Air, Op. 189, No. 4 by Charles Villiers Stanford
  • Fantasy on Ein Feste Burg, Op. 65, No. 47 by Sigfrid Karg-Elert